Bel Air Independence Day Committee
July 4 Contact Form

Note: do not use this form to apply to be in the parade — instead, fill out the Online Parade Application.

E-mail Address:

Phone Number:

About You

Your Main Interest:

Questions or Comments:

Is water wet or dry?
Please answer the above question so that we can be sure you are a human being!
Meet Miss Bel Air 2023!
2023 Program Cover Contest Winner Chosen

2022 Results and Awards



Note: every effort has been made to spell the names of the winners correctly and to give their "town" locations, and we apologize for any errors or omissions (our volunteers sometimes are greatly challenged in writing the information down during these events!). If you see an error, PLEASE communicate with us, and we will correct it.

All contests were free and open to the public.


    Men's Singles:
    1st: Tim Hilton, Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Derek Hebert, Bel Air, MD

    Men's Doubles:
    1st: John Jones, Parkville, MD; Richard Jackson, Parkville, MD
    2nd: Randy Cottrell, Joppa, MD; Steve Windle, Churchville, MD

    Women's Singles:
    1st: Stephanie Starchak, Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Jamie Hughes, Forest Hill, MD

    Women's Doubles:
    1st: Stephanie Starchak, Bel Air, MD; Nicole Starchak, Street, MD
    2nd: Jamie Hughes, Forest Hill, MD; Michelle Kahl, Nottingham, MD

  • WATER BALLOON TOSS: Total Participants 282

    Ages 6 and under:
    1st: Adwait Poudel (and mother, Natya Poudel), Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Thomas Baldwin (and father, Drew Baldwin), Columbia, MD
    3rd: Hanna Gebhart (and father, Lucas Gebhart), Bel Air, MD

    Ages 9 and under:
    1st: Logan Szewczyk and Auditya Poudel, Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Hudson Krout and Hollie Krout, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Audrey Jett and Eric Jett, Bel Air, MD

    Ages 12 and under:
    1st: Charles Stone and Nick Stone, Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Kolby Greiner and Peyton Greiner, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Mason Mossitt and Jamie Swisher, Bel Air, MD

    Ages 17 and under:
    1st: Abbie Lippert and Marco Lippert, Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Tim Greiner and Peyton Griner, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Bryan Raedeke and Joel Raedeke, Bel Air, MD

    Ages 18 and older:
    1st: Jeff Murphy and Kristin Murphy, Forest Hill, MD
    2nd: Tim Greiner and Ashley Greiner, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Jimmy Jordan and Josh Lowel, Abingdon, MD

  • UNCLE SAM SAYS: Total Participants ±125

    Ages 5 -7:
    1st: Leo Garback, Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Ally Garback, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Evelyn Moore, Bel Air, MD

    Ages 8-10:
    1st: Aditya Poudel, Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Logan Szewczyk, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Ainsley Colt, Bel Air, MD

    Ages 11-13:
    1st: Liam McDowell, Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Arabella Hood, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Alli Noyes, Bel Air, MD

    Ages 14 and older:
    1st: Madison Battaglia, Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Jess Freeman, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Matt Battaglia, Bel Air, MD


    Best Decorated, Girls: Eloise Lader, Bel Air, MD
    Best Decorated, Boys: Jackson Bona, Abingdon, MD

    Tricycle/Training Wheels:
    1st: Gavin Wasielewski
    2nd: Oliver Burns
    3rd: Elizabeth Bennett

    Ages 5-7:
    1st: Henry Murdoch
    2nd: Sabina Majchrak
    3rd: Connor Vodarick

    Ages 8-10:
    1st: Ian Retford, Bel Air
    2nd: Althea Marmen, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Cyrus Marmen, Bel Air, MD

    Ages 11-13:
    1st: Nolan Marmen, Bel Air
    2nd: Jackson Bona, Abingdon, MD
    3rd: Elena Bennett


    Ages 6 and under:
    1st: Jaden Schillartch
    2nd: "Charlie"
    3rd: Kamden Durm, Bel Air, MD

    Ages 7-10:
    1st: Max Ciufo, Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Eli Barnaby, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Rylee Marck, Bel Air, MD

    Ages 11 - 16:
    1st: Connor Mace, Bel Air, MD
    2nd: Colter Mace, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Julian Young, Bel Air, MD

    Ages 17 and older:
    1st: Jim Holt, Annapolis, MD
    2nd: Mark Holmes, Bel Air, MD
    3rd: Matt Rosati, Bel Air, MD


The Parade is judged by a panel of independent judges, whose decisions are final. Judges have the authority to limit the number of awards in each category, or to create a category if in their opinion such is needed.

  • Floats:

    1st Place: Driving Our Future
    2nd Place: Society of Italian-American Businessmen
    3rd Place: Realty Plus Associates

  • Equestrian Units:

    1st Place: Horsin' Around — Painted Horse Ranch
    2nd Place: The Parade Horses and Riders
    3rd Place: Maryland Miniatures

  • Bands, Drum & Bugle Corps:

    1st Place: Havre de Grace High School Marching Band
    2nd Place: Aberdeen High School Marching Band
    3rd Place: Reading Buccaneers Drum & Bugle Corps
    4th Place: White Sabers Drum & Bugle Corps

  • Color Guards:

    1st Place: Marine Corps League Cpl. Pete Arnold Detachment #1198
    2nd Place: Harford County Sheriff’s Office
    3rd Place: 20th CBRNE Command Color Guard from Aberdeen Proving Ground


    1st Place:Gunpowder Mill Racers
    2nd Place: Michael Rosman's Circus Camp Stars
    3rd Place: The Magic Continues Character Company


    1st Place: 1964 Ford F 100 Truck
    2nd Place: World War II Military Vehicles
    3rd Place: Tar Heel Construction Group, LLC

  • Emergency Services:

    1st Place: Fallston Volunteer Fire Co.
    2nd Place: Bel Air Volunteer Fire Co.

  • "Absolutely Unique Parade Entry": Boumi Shrine Rigs, Magic Carpets and Motorcycle Corps
  • "Most Patriotic Person in the Parade": Daughters, Sons & Children of the American Revolution
  • "Most Popular with the Crowd": Buontempo Brothers / Tower Restaurant
  • "Most Impressive Unit": Harford Highlanders Pipes & Drums
  • "Most Happy to Be Here": Miracle League of Harford County

  • "Most Unusual Unit in the Parade": Otter Point Creek Alliance
  • "Funniest Unit in the Parade": Stonewall Day Care Center


    Major General Robert L. Edmonson II, USA, Commandant, Aberdeen Proving Grounds
    Sgt. Alfred B. Hilton Memorial American Legion Post 55
    2022 Harf Cnty Little Fire Chief Jameson Easton
    2022 Harf Cnty Little Miss Fire Prev Lilyana Williamson
    Sgt. Alfred B. Hilton Memorial American Legion Post 55
    Town of Bel Air Department of Public Works

Winners will be contacted by the Bel Air Independence Day Committee, by e-mail. This list will also be sent to all local newspapers, both print and online.


Complete results for 2021

(No event in 2020 due to COVID-19 Pandemic)

Complete results for 2019

Complete results for 2018


The Bel Air Independence Day Committee, Inc.
P.O. Box 724 • Bel Air, Maryland 21014
410-879-4245 (Answering Service)

All trademarks, art work, coding, copy, etc., are property of the Bel Air Independence Day Committee, Inc., unless otherwise noted, and may not be reproduced or copied without permission.

The Bel Air Independence Day Committee, Inc., is recognized by the United States Internal Revenue Service as a 501(c)(3) tax exempt corporation.

© 2003-2022 The Bel Air Independence Day Committee, Inc. All rights reserved. Send an e-mail to the Bel Air Independence Day Committee
General Disclaimer and Terms of Use.